Momwithastethoscope's Weblog

June 19, 2008

How to Live in Harmony with Your Pediatrician

Filed under: Uncategorized — momwithastethoscope @ 6:18 pm

 

1.        Be prepared for your visits.  I love a list!  A parent that walks into a check-up has thought about that appointment ahead of time just like my staff and I go through the child’s medical information prior to walking into the exam room. A list of questions sets the agenda for the appointment.

2.       Let’s have a conversation.  I enjoy being asked medically related questions – even things that are controversial.  The to and fro of conversing with patients and parents is the highlight of my day. 

3.       Please remember your child is not my only patient.  There are times when emergencies or crazy, busy days occur when it is next to impossible for me to stay on time. If your child has an emergency, I will take all the time your child needs, too.

4.       Filling out forms, medicine refills and sports physicals are not emergencies.  Sometimes these things need to be planned for in advance.  Please ask what about office policies regarding these events. 

5.       Unblock your phone.  My staff and I spend a large amount of time on the phone – only to get an answering machine, a “we’re not accepting your call message”, or voice mail.  Give us a chance to relay information or answer questions by taking our call when we call back.

6.       Let us know if you’ve waited more than 30 minutes anywhere in the office.  You deserve an explanation about the wait time and we need to know you are here.  Please refrain from letting your children roam the halls (it may be a violation of another patient’s privacy) while you are waiting. 

7.       Doctors are humans, too. Sometimes we get sick.  Sometimes our children and family get sick, too. Your understanding is always appreciated as we try to balance our home and work lives.

8.       Being on call is not an easy part of our job.  Having a sick child at nighttime or over the weekend is not an easy thing for a parent, either.  We try to give the best advice possible over the telephone, but nothing beats a face to face visit.  There are times that I refer patients to the Emergency Department because a fresh mind can evaluate problems better than a tired, been on call for 48 hours mind.  Also, life at my house still goes on even when I carry my beeper.  My children still scrape their knees, the dog gets out of the yard, and I still get flat tires. 

9.       Stalking.  That’s a strong word, but that’s what it feels like when parents watch my every move either coming into the office from my car or shopping in the local discount store.  This typically happens when a parent walks into the office without an appointment and wants to be seen because they know I am here.  Sometimes I am here early to catch up on paperwork or phone calls.  Sometimes I am calling other physicians.  Sometimes I am trying to schedule my own dentist, doctor’s appointments.

10.   My feelings can be hurt, too.  Transferring without an explanation, not following the recommended plan, telling me I’m fat, pale, have yellow teeth.  I have pretty thick skin and children will say almost anything, but think before you make personal comments about me, my staff, or my family.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

