Momwithastethoscope's Weblog

August 16, 2008

Locavore

Filed under: Organic — momwithastethoscope @ 6:46 pm
Tags: ,

At first glance, it looks like this word means eating crazy.  Actually it means those who eat locally – within a 100 mile radius of home.  Coined by some Californians, locavore was the 2007 Oxford American Dictionary word of the year.  Okay I guessed I missed that proclamation – but it describes my fascination with locally produced food.  I’m a locavore, yup, that’s me.  It’s not easy to do year-round but this time of year is a locavore’s dream.

Here are the top ten reasons I like the stuff grown near my home:

10.  Produce is picked when it’s ripe not when it needs to go to market.

9.  Local farmers and local economy benefit when I shop here.

8.  Prices of produce and food have less to do with shipping costs.

7.  Food is alive when it is fresh – okay this sounds gross – but I’m part of the food chain and I’m no scavenger.

6.  If I get E. Coli or Salmonella – I know where it came from.

5.  It’s easier to find reasonable organic goods.  Paying higher prices for organic shipped from across the country is counterproductive to eating well – food may be grown without chemicals and pestcides but coated with diesel exhaust?

4.  At least in the spring and summer, there is constant variety as different crops come into season.  I’m never bored. Shopping local is a feast for the eyes.

3.  Local produce has given me a new appreciation for preserving and canning.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m interested.

2.  Buying local is a good lesson for my kids.  They enjoy the Farmer’s Market -free samples, homemade ice cream.  What’s not to love?  It’s my subtle approach to getting them away from junk and back to the fruits and veggies.

1.  IT TASTES BETTER!

2 Comments »

  1. […] “Local food is fresher / tastes better” is a fine answer, but then let’s call a spade a spade: A vanilla consumer desire for a higher quality product, not a “lifestyle” and certainly not anything to get self-righteous about. […]

    Pingback by Can any of the locavores please explain to me… « The Invisible Hand, in your pants — August 19, 2008 @ 4:19 pm | Reply

  2. In summer “good” tomatoes can be bought on the east coast from the west coast and on the west coast from the east coast. When qualities are equal, a locavore still makes the additional effort to support those small farms that exist where he/she lives. This is not being “self-righteous.” It’s being thoughtful about how we make choices with our food-dollars. Trying to do more to eat from our own areas says “yes” to small farms and “less” to huge mega-holdings in farmed goods, supports the local economy, and helps reduce the food-miles we eat.

    Comment by Farmer Jess — April 18, 2011 @ 6:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

