Momwithastethoscope's Weblog

November 19, 2008

Off the wagon

Filed under: Office — momwithastethoscope @ 5:56 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve fallen off, and I need to get back on.  A couple of months ago I started an exercise by writing what I was grateful for each day.  In the beginning, I didn’t think much of jotting down a few notes about the highlights of my day, but as I continued, I realized that the list helped my mental outlook tremendously.  Instead of focusing on the one patient that really pissed me off that day because A) the parent lets the three year old run the family B) another quirky reason not to vaccinate a child or C)  family is in big hurry because they have more pressing things to do like lessons or practice and want me to do the check-up quickly – take your pick – I remembered the parent who told me her son mimics me at home, or the big hug I got from the even bigger teenager who just got accepted to his first choice college. 

I need to get back on the wagon.  The list lets me see the bigger picture of what I do, and not get caught in the “trees” of everyday practice.  By being a gracious pediatrician, I am rewarded in big and little gifts of  items to be thankful for.  Sounds cornball, huh?  Try it.

Here’s my list for today:

Happy old dog in warm house

Old Dog

Old Dog

Cinnamon Yankee Candle that smells like cookies

Yummy candle

Yummy candle

Cooperative two year old in for well visit on time

Wide-eyed six month old with standy-uppy hair

Good latte from Dunkin’ Donuts this am

Time to write a post between patients

Delivery from Amazon of some of kid’s Christmas presents to the office and not to home where I have to explain make up stories about what’s in the boxes.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

