Momwithastethoscope's Weblog

September 12, 2009

Loving Pediatric Medicine – the anti-rant

Filed under: Office,pediatrics,positive medicine — momwithastethoscope @ 7:04 am
Tags: , , , ,

Reason Number 12:  Twins. Mother Nature knew what she was doing when she gave me one infant at a time.  Each of my sons needed 100%  of my focus but not for extraordinary reasons.  The transition from pediatrician to pediatrician and parent was a much bigger one than I anticipated for many reasons (best tackled in a future post). 

The birth of my own singleton, however, didn’t diminsh my fascination with twins.  My practice has been blessed with a bumper crop of twins.  We have an occasional set of triplets, too.  No octuplets, thank you, OB colleagues! Recently we added four new sets of twins in one week, and I have a partner who has twins, too. 

Twins, in my younger years, implied mirror images of each other.  But that’s not the case.  Male-female sets teach me all about nature versus nurture as I watch the boys crawl to wheeled toys as their sisters fine motor skills explode.  It is a unique study in the differences gender makes in brain development.  Still, I am careful not to pigeonhole a child based on gender alone , just as I am careful not to assume that one child’s health is indicative of another’s.  Twins keep me on my toes, and I have vast admiration for the parents who care for these children.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

